50 Days Toward Jamaica 50

Jamaica 50 logo

Jamaica 50 logo

In just under 50 days, Jamaica will officially mark it’s 50th year as an independent nation on August 6, 2012. As we trod toward that important date and jump over the numerous fracas that continue to mark the commemoration I wanted to craft 50 posts in the fifty days leading up to Jamaica 50. I am two days behind.

In numerous posts I have expressed my frustration with this nation so, I thought I would start my Jamaica 50 in 50 series simply by making a pledge, the national pledge in fact:

Before God and all mankind, I pledge the love and loyalty of my heart, the wisdom and courage of my mind, the strength and vigour of my body in the service of my fellow citizens; I promise to stand up for Justice, Brotherhood and Peace, to work diligently and creatively, to think generously and honestly, so that Jamaica may, under God, increase in beauty, fellowship and prosperity, and play her part in advancing the welfare of the whole human race.

May be it is because you have to learn these things by route, but I think its easy to not really pay attention to what the words truly say. But reading these words again remind me of what I must do if I wish at all to make a difference in this country, in this world. I particularly like that the pledge leaps beyond our island state to speak to our roles as citizens of the world.

So I pledge…

One thought on “50 Days Toward Jamaica 50

  1. Bess you TBS I am so passionateabout my birth Country- its anthem, flag, pledge etc. I do agree that most person spit out the words having learnt them – withiout giving thought/consideration to what they are expressing. I pray that citizens all, will come to realize – after 50 years of Independence – make the necessary changes/adjustments to enable each of us us to really exhibit LOVE & RESPECT for all.
    Jamaica Land we Love ! . Lt us not jus say it feel it, be it.

Leave a Reply

